• Everyone can read this forum. To post on this forum, you must be a Community or VIP member. You can register here. If you are a member, to login use your email address for the username and the same password you use for the main site. If you have problems logging in to the forum, please email support@holisticactions.com.

Commercial RAW or ....

Dana

All-Access Member
Registered
Because I am new to this, I did some research on commercial Raw dog food and am only now realizing that I should buy raw meat with it's bones and organs and just add the veggies??
Here was my research:

“The Dog Food Advisor”(DFA) does a very thorough job of rating commercial dog foods.
In the category of RAW FROZEN they give 5 stars to all of the following brands but NOT every flavor.
Answers Detailed
Northwest Naturals (X beef, lamb & bison)
OC Raw (X lamb)
Oma’s Pride (Turkey only)
Primal Raw (X beef, lamb & chicken)
Raw Bistro (X lamb)
Raw Wild
Small Batch Raw (X duck or lamb)
Steve’s (X chicken)
Vital Essentials (X turkey)

In my neck of the woods, I can only find Northwest Naturals, Oma’s Pride, Primal & Small Batch. At Dr. Jeff recommendation I was able to get We Feed Raw (not rated by The DFA) and Steve’s online.
Pricing:
Northwest Naturals – Chicken $6.63/lb, White Fish & Salmon $6.17/lb
Oma’s Pride - Turkey $3.75/lb
Primal Raw - Duck $6.96/lb, Turkey & Sardine $7.50/lb
Small Batch Raw – Chicken $6.33/lb, Rabbit $10/lb
Steve’s – Chicken $6.29/lb
We Feed Raw – Turkey $10/lb
Local Butcher – ground chicken w/ bones & organs (no vegies) $3.92/lb

Dr. Jeff

Administrator
Veterinarian
Hey Dana.

I'd also contact Kevin or Frank at Rawganics about their great and local raw meat.

Also @jenbridwell just informed me that Top Quality Dog Food has a Greenwich pickup location:

Dr. Christina

All-Access Member
Veterinarian
Excellent, Dana. Thanks so much for sharing those numbers.