• Everyone can read this forum. To post on this forum, you must be a Community or VIP member. You can register here. If you are a member, to login use your email address for the username and the same password you use for the main site. If you have problems logging in to the forum, please email support@holisticactions.com.

Hyperthyroid diagnosis in 12/13 year old colony cat

BashaC

Registered
Hi everyone, this is my first post. I'm grateful for this forum.

Charlie is one of the cats in my colony. My guess is he's about 12/13 years old. I've been feeding him for about 11 years. He is neutered, a domestic short hair, and 11.8 lbs.

He was just diagnosed with hyperthyroidism with T4 levels of 9.2. He had blood work done on 7/29/22 and his T4 levels were 4.3. I took him into the vet both times because he was having pain while eating and pawing at his mouth. He eats a raw food diet. He's never been vaccinated. He lives outside and may be exposed to toxins from neighbors yards.

Medical history:

It took me a long time to be able to trap him and he would show up with signs of having been fighting. I was finally about to trap him in 2017 when she showed up with open gashes on his legs. The vet sewed him up and found two of his canine teeth broken, one decayed, and one missing. The three canines were extracted. He was giving antibiotics and pain medication at that time. After this vet visit and being neutered, he slowly, over the past 5 years has shown more interest in being in relationship with me and the other family members who feed them (they get fed in a family member's back yard). We can now brush him and he enjoys spending time with us outside.