• Everyone can read this forum. To post on this forum, you must be a Community or VIP member. You can register here. If you are a member, to login use your email address for the username and the same password you use for the main site. If you have problems logging in to the forum, please email support@holisticactions.com.

Seeking guidance for my dog

E

ECaron85

Hello All,
My name is Emily and I am new to the Holistic community. My 12.5yr old yorkie Gidget has just been diagnosed with Congestive heart failure, chronic kidney disease, and Cushings disease due to a large adrenal gland tumor. She also has hypertension. Let me start off by saying I know nothing about treating any of this and a month ago didn’t even realize she was so sick. She woke up one morning and had labored breathing so I rushed her to the emergency vet and now our whole life has changed. She is currently taking Pimobendan, Spironolactone, and Amlodipine for her heart and I have been giving her Milk thistle and Kidney support from Pet Wellbeing. She is also taking Mitotane for the Cushings which I feel sick about but didn’t really know of any other options. I have switched her food to Dr. Harvey’s Paradigm and I switch her protein every week. If anyone has any advice on supplements or medicines that may help heal her or help her wean off her current meds I would greatly appreciate any advice. I have copies of bloodwork if that would help. I’m all ears at this point because Gidget is my world and I don’t want to say goodbye yet.

Dr. Jeff

Administrator
Veterinarian
Welcome Emily!

Gidget's one lucky pup to have you as her mom!

First and foremost, you absolutely should know that you do not need to say goodbye yet just because of her diagnoses.

It's her quality of life and the full context of her problems that is most important.

For example, how's her BEAM (Behavior, Energy, Appetite, Mood)?

Has she has other chronic issues like skin, urinary, stool, etc. problems in the past 12 years?