• Everyone can read this forum. To post on this forum, you must be a Community or VIP member. You can register here. If you are a member, to login use your email address for the username and the same password you use for the main site. If you have problems logging in to the forum, please email support@holisticactions.com.

Licking paws

JennieC

All-Access Member
Registered
Hello
Our dog Banjo is almost 6 years old, is a Corgi/ Red Heeler mix and we took over his care about a year ago. He was always kibble fed and I have been working to transition him over to raw for about 6 months. He is almost off of all kibble (I use the honest kitchen turkey) and give him raw turkey with some vegetables , blueberries and celery juice. He is extremely sensitive with his diet and it has been difficult to adjust to this without him throwing up or getting diarrhea. He came from a home that was abusive and he is very skittish, jumpy and does bite if he feels threatened. He will bark like crazy at anyone who comes to the door and has bitten a friend that simply came into the house. He seems to have calmed down some the longer he has been here, but still shows signs of aggression and barking as the "guardian " of the house is how I perceive it. He was routinely vaccinated before coming here. He is a very loving dog to mostly Me and follows me around everywhere. He has tons and tons of energy and loves to go for walks and I will take him to the dog park where we do simple things like jumping through the hoops, etc. For about 2 weeks now he has been licking his paws excessively non stop. His paws are not red or inflamed or have any sores on them. It is not something that stops him from normal activity. He also has been scratching quite a bit on his belly which I saw when we started to change his diet. I noticed that the skin on his belly has turned darker, almost black.