• Everyone can read this forum. To post on this forum, you must be a Community or VIP member. You can register here. If you are a member, to login use your email address for the username and the same password you use for the main site. If you have problems logging in to the forum, please email support@holisticactions.com.

How much is too much and how much is too little?

ThomasH

All-Access Member
Registered
  1. Your pet's name - Rocky
  2. Approximate age - 5 months
  3. Sex - Male
  4. Neutering status - Intact
  5. Breed - German Shepherd Dog
  6. Approximate weight - 38 lbs
  7. What's their BEAM (behavior, energy, appetite, mood) - Typical puppy - happy, playful, endless amounts of energy, intelligent
  8. Diet - Oma's Pride Complete Raw meal subscription service
  9. Vaccination history / exposure to toxins, other medication - Distemper at 2 months - Rabies - yesterday at 5months
I am learning the holistic lifestyle as I am going. I am very new to this even though I have spent a lifetime with dogs. I have been using a great pet nutritionist at a local pet store. I have a 6year old Rottweiler as well and I have followed their advice for years. Their recommendation when knowing how much to feed my Rottie was to take the dogs weight and times it by 4%. The answer will give you how much food you should be feed ing your dog. I used the same formula for my puppy. I was giving Rocky 1 lbs of food in the morning and 1 lbs of food in the evening. At noon I would give Rocky a turkey neck. For random treats I am using freeze dried chicken hearts.